Cricket World Cup 2019 Winner & ICC World Champions from 1975

For the first time in the ICC Cricket world cup history, the England won the title after 44 years.  The England cricket team became the 2019 ICC Cricket World Champions. The World Cup final match was held yesterday and the finalists were England and the New Zealand teams, the match was a tie, later the England team won the world cup title by the super over.

India vs West Indies 2019 Schedule

From the first world cup tournament which was organized in the year 1975 at England, later on England team lost the title for three times, for West Indies in 1979, for Australia in 1987, for Pakistan in 1992. But this time their dream of becoming the world champions came true after 44 years.

Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1975:

The ICC Cricket World cup is conducted for the One Day International Cricket to determine the World Cricket Champion, World Cup in Cricket is organized once in every four years by the International Cricket Council. ICC World Cup is one of the most viewed spectator sports in the world. The first ever World Cup for cricket was conducted in the year 1975 in England. Till now 11 World Cup series were organized and the current one is the twelfth one.

The world cup tournament starts with league matches and the 8 winners will be qualified for the Quarter finals and from the quarter finals 4 winners will be qualified for the semi finals and in the semi finals 2 winners will be qualified for the final match of the tournament and the winner of the final match will be the world champion.

FaceApp                FaceApp Challenge             2019 Billionaires       Hollywood Highest Grossers

ICC World Champions From 1975:

S.NO Year Host Country Final Match Venue Winner Runner up
1 1975 England London West Indies Australia
2 1979 England London West Indies England
3 1983 England London India West Indies
4 1987 India, Pakistan Kolkata Australia England
5 1992 Australia, New Zealand Melbourne Pakistan England
6 1996 India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka Lahore Sri Lanka Australia
7 1999 England, Wales London Australia Pakistan
8 2003 South Africa Johannesburg Australia India
9 2007 West Indies Bridgetown Australia Sri Lanka
10 2011 India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh Mumbai India Sri Lanka
11 2015 Australia, New Zealand Melbourne Australia New Zealand
12 2019 England, Wales London England New Zealand
13 2023 India Mumbai

The ICC organized 12 world cup tournaments till now starting from the year 1975 to 2019, West Indies became the first world champion in cricket, and they won the title consecutively for 2 times in a row, they won the first world cup title in the year 1975 and the second world cup title in the year 1979, then in the year 1983 during the third world cup tournament India became the second world champion by beating West Indies team in England, India won the world cup title for 2 times first time in 1983 and the second time in 2011. 

Australia became the third world champion in the year 1987 by beating England, Australia is the most successful team in the ICC World Cup tournaments because Australia team won the world cup title for 5 times and became world champions for five times. At once they won the world cup title consecutively 3 times in a row (Hattrick) 1999, 2003, 2007. After the Australia team, Pakistan became the fourth world champion in the year 1992 by beating England team in Australia. Sri Lanka became the fifth world champion in the year 1996, they won the world cup title by beating the Australia in Lahore. Now the England became the sixth world champion in the year 2019 by beating the New Zealand team in a super over.

Cricket World Cup Records from 1975:

S.NO Event Record Name Country
1 Highest Runs Secured 2278 runs Sachin Tendulkar India
2 Highest Score 237 Not out Martin Guptill West Indies
3 Highest Runs in a Single Tournament 673 Sachin Tendulkar India
4 Highest Hundreds 6 Sachin Tendulkar, Rohith Sharma India
5 Highest Hundreds in a Single Tournament 5 Rohith Sharma India
6 Highest Average 124.00 Lance Klusener South Africa
7 Highest Wickets 71 Glen MC Grath Australia
8 Highest Score 417/6 Australia Vs Afghanistan Australia
9 Highest Winning Percentage 74.73% Australia Australia

Cricket World Cup Man of the Tournament Titles from 1975:

S.NO World Cup Player Name Performance
1 1992 Martin Crowe 456 Runs
2 1996 Sanath Jayasurya 221 Runs & 7 Wickets
3 1999 Lance Klusener 281 Runs & 17 Wickets
4 2003 Sachin Tendulkar 673 Runs & 2 Wickets
5 2007 Glen Mc Grath 26 Wickets
6 2011 Yuva Raj Singh 362 Runs & 15 Wickets
7 2015 Mitchell Starc 22 Wickets
8 2019 Kane Williamson 578 Runs

Cricket Teams Played for 2019 ICC World Cup:

S.NO Country Tournaments Played Tournaments Won Winning %
1 Australia 12 5 74.73
2 India 12 2 64.65
3 West Indies 12 2 55.12
4 England 12 1 59.75
5 Pakistan 12 1 58.44
6 Sri Lanka 12 1 49.35
7 New Zealand 12 0 61.93
8 South Africa 8 0 61.90
9 Bangladesh 6 0 35.89
10 Afghanistan 2 0 6.66

One thought on “Cricket World Cup 2019 Winner & ICC World Champions from 1975

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *